John Mesman, Team Lead, Communications and Outreach
South Nation Conservation

About Conservation Authorities

Unique to Ontario, Conservation Authorities are community-based watershed management agencies that deliver on-the-ground services and programs on behalf of member municipalities to protect and enhance the local environment and natural resources, protect people and property from natural hazards such as flooding, and support sustainable development activities.

Conservation Authorities were formed and are legislated under the Conservation Authorities Act of Ontario, 1946. Authorities are organized on a watershed basis and promote an integrated watershed management approach, balancing human, environmental and economic needs.

There are 36 Conservation Authorities across Ontario, 12 of which operate in the Eastern region, including Central Lake Ontario, Kawartha, Otonabee, Ganaraska, Crowe Valley, Lower Trent, Quinte, Mississippi Valley, Rideau Valley, South Nation, and Raisin Region Conservation Authorities.