Wednesday, September 14, 2022

OEMC attendees are eligible for 3 points towards EDAC’s professional Ec.D. accreditation

*Schedule is subject to change

8:30 AM
Registration Opens
10:00-10:30 AM
OEMC Opening Remarks & Government Address
Grand Chief Abram Benedict, Mohawk Council of Akwesasne
Mayor Glen Grant, City of Cornwall
Warden Carma Williams, United Counties of Stormont, Dundas and Glengarry
MP Eric Duncan, Stormont-Dundas-South Glengarry
MPP Nolan Quinn, Stormont–Dundas–South Glengarry
10:30-11:15 AM
Keynote Speaker: Bill Carr - Sponsored by Enbridge
11:15-11:30 AM
Rogers Update on Eastern Ontario Expansion presented by Angela Webber, Director, Major Programs, Rogers
Sponsored by Rogers
11:30-12:30 PM
Ontario East - Opportunities in the EV Supply Chain
12:30-1:30 PM
Lunch - Sponsored by CIBC
Municipal Development Workforce Development Economic Development
1:30-2:30 PM Enhancing Municipal Governance: Local Problems are Best Resolved Locally

The Impact of Schools on the Vibrancy of Rural Communities  What you do when you think no one is watching… 
2:30-3:00 PM
Refreshment Break in Exhibit Hall - Sponsored by CIBC
3:00-4:00 PM Filling the Housing Information Gap in Rural Eastern Ontario Collaboration, Community & Shared Opportunity: Discovering SLC’s NEW Global Engagement Community Development Program Attracting Immigrant Entrepreneurs to Small and Rural Communities to Create Jobs and Increase Exports
4:00-4:10 PM

4:10-5:10 PM Health & Safety Management and Q&A Updates from the Ministry of Labour, Immigration, Training and Skills Development (MLISTD) Local Food Branding for Impact
5:10-6:30 PM
President's Reception in Exhibit Hall - Sponsored by Enbridge
6:30-10:00 PM
BBQ Banquet - Sponsored by United Counties of Stormont, Dundas and Glengarry (SDG)
Entertainment includes The Chesterfields and The MacCulloch Dancers!

Thursday, September 15, 2022

8:00 AM
Registration Opens
9:00-9:15 AM
Government Address
Hon. Steve Clark, Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing
Warden Debbie Robinson, Chair, Eastern Ontario Wardens' Caucus, Warden of Renfrew County
Mayor Diane Therrien, Chair, Eastern Ontario Mayors' Caucus & Eastern Ontario Leadership Council, Mayor, City of Peterborough
9:15-9:30 AM
EDO of the Year Award Presentation - Sponsored by ResearchFDI
Presented by Bruce Takefman, President, ResearchFDI and Chris King, President, Ontario East Economic Development Commission
9:30-10:00 AM
Overview of Ontario’s Changing Electricity Grid - Sponsored by IESO
10:00-10:30 AM
Refreshment Break in Exhibit Hall - Sponsored by Cambium
Municipal Development Workforce Development Economic Development
10:30-11:30 AM The Path to Energy Transition and Working with Municipalities Municipal Law Update Updates on Funding and Business Support Programs in Eastern Ontario
11:30-11:40 AM
11:40-12:40 PM Open Access – Why the Wholesale Broadband Model is Gaining Traction with Greenfield Operators Using Data to Guide Recovery Connected Communities - Sustainability, Innovation, and the Future of Smart Buildings
12:40-1:45 PM
Lunch - Sponsored by Cambium
1:45-2:45 PM Understanding the Difference Between Diversity and Inclusion in a Community Enhance your Decision-Making with On-Demand Labour Market Information Urban and Rural Expansion: Limitations for Some and Opportunities for Others
2:45-3:15 PM
Refreshment Break in Exhibit Hall
3:15-4:15 PM Resurrecting Defects – Strategies for Municipalities Tourism Industry Association of Ontario - Updates
4:15-5:15 PM
Happy Hour in the Exhibit Hall- Sponsored by Devcore and 1Valet
5:30 PM
Taste of the Town - Sponsored by the City of Cornwall